After posting about my odd too big/not big enough body moment… someone passed along this fabulous site.

http://maternitygallery.com

It has images of people grouped by week of pregnancy. Wow, does it show that there is a wide range of normal! I think whenever we are going through body changes (ugh, remember puberty anyone?), there is this tendency to be afraid that you are different or something is wrong. Other people don’t help, as comments seem to highlight whatever insecurities are already there.

Somehow seeing how there isn’t one defined “normal” from which you are deviating, but instead wide range of bodies and shapes, helps me to find more peace with my body as it is. (And they are taking submissions, because I’m sure they’d like more!) I bet that I will be going back to the site as the pregnancy continues.

