As convenient as it’s been to have a job based at home (hello, midday naps), the downside of my job is the abundance of flying I do. Even before I found out I was pregnant, I made a conscious effort to minimize my work travel, but there are still times when I just have to. So far I’ve had two roundtrips and am preparing for two more this month. The next one will require a 5 am wake-up call, and I just don’t know how I’m going to do it.The fatigue of the first trimester has set in. Dragging myself out of bed at 6:30 just to take the dog on a walk has proven to be challenging. What is it about the seventh week of pregnancy that’s such an ass kicker?

I’m planning to arm myself with as many anti-nausea remedies as possible: Preggo pops, vitamin B6, saltines, and those ridiculous looking acupressure wristbands. I’m booked in the aisle seat, so I can escape to the bathroom when needed. Any other pointers for getting through these upcoming trips?

To make matters more awkward, I’m going to New York and sharing a hotel room with my supervisor to help keep costs low. How in the world am I supposed to keep my pregnancy a secret when I’m eating saltines in bed, popping vitamins, and acting like a zombie?

